You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Y Spiral and Hydroblade Help!  (Read 4783 times)

Offline Pandafan00

• Rink Rat
  • Total GOE: 0
Y Spiral and Hydroblade Help!
« on: March 16, 2013, 04:12:20 PM »
Hi guys!  :)

I've been skating since I was little, but stopped for 2 years. Now, I've restarted, and doing pretty well; I've been competing in the Primary level, and can do up to a lutz. But in both competitions, I received last place, which was quite disappointing. :-\ My coach decided to completly redo my program, and put a Y-spiral AND a hydrablade in it. I'm sort of flexible (my spirals are a bit over 90 degrees) but my leg refuse to create that beautiful Y shape. I stretch every other day, for my spiral, but I was wondering if anyone had tips on stretching to get a Y lift. Also, for my hydroblade, anyone know stretches for the leg muscles so I can go lower? Thanks!  ;)

Offline Pandafan00

• Rink Rat
Re: Y Spiral and Hydroblade Help!
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2013, 04:57:04 PM »
Bump?  :P

Offline AgnesNitt

• Asynchronous Skating Team Leader
  • Total GOE: 516
    • The ice doesn't care
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2013, 05:55:45 PM »
I know  nothing about skating a Y-spiral, but I think I may be able to provide a trick about the off-ice stretching. This is sensible, and if you don't see improvement or it feels uncomfortable don't do it. The trick is to do the stretching initially lying down so that you don't  have to worry about balancing or messing with equipment. This can help you get a much deeper stretch so that when you go to do it standing, you have greater flexibility than you need. A sort of flexibility reserve, so to speak.

Also, I'm getting physical therapy now, and I'm supposed to do the stretching every day, twice a day. Take that for what it's worth.