You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Advice on first skates  (Read 1950 times)

Offline lulucy

• Wearing Rental Skates
  • Total GOE: 0
Advice on first skates
« on: December 12, 2016, 02:06:47 PM »
Hello, I’m looking for advice on buying my first skates!

I’m not really sure of what kind of information you need to help me, but some general info about me: I have no previous experience with ice skating (well as a child I went skating with my school a few times, but I mostly face planted on the ice haha), I’m 18, around 170cm, 55kg give or take. I have no idea what kind of boot I should be looking for. A friend recommended me the Jackson competitor with an Aspire XP blade. She doesn’t have much experience though, so I’d like others opinions as well. I can’t go over $300 since I don’t really know whether or not I’ll actually enjoy it.

I also have an off-topic question; how long does it ‘normally’ take for people to become decent at figure skating? Obviously everyone progresses at different paces, but I mean generally. The class I’m planning on taking is only once a week, but I’m not in school anymore nor do i have a job, so I have a lot of free time on my hand.

Thanks in advance, (and sorry for my English)!

Offline Ethereal Ice

• Prerotation Society
  • Total GOE: 13
Re: Advice on first skates
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2016, 12:09:35 AM »
Hi there and welcome!  I am sure other more experienced people have great advice they are ready to give, I can give you some perspective as a fellow beginner.