You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: New Boots and Blades: Breaking Them In and Over Blading Cautions  (Read 8579 times)

Offline TheAquarian

• Homologating Quadrubles
  • Total GOE: 29
New Boots and Blades: Breaking Them In and Over Blading Cautions
« on: September 27, 2010, 01:35:38 PM »
Hello!

I am new to the sport (and the forums), and I'm curious if people can give recommendations on proper breaking in of new skates and then using the ones that I have.    My boots have already arrived and my blades should be here today or tomorrow, so I expect that I'll have the skates on Thursday or Friday.   I posted an intro with a few questions, but I suspect that section doesn't get a whole lot of traffic so I'll ask my boot and blade related questions again here and expand a little on them.

Breaking in New Boots

My coach suggested that I wear them in the house while bending my knees to break them in, but I've heard some people say that you should not wear your skates in the house because they will be broken in as if they were intended for walking instead of skating.   I personally don't have a strong opinion whether to start at home, or just  reserve them for the ice at the moment, I just want to do what will be the most helpful/effective for my skating.

Any suggestions?  

Over Booting and Blading

I'd like some information on what I should be cautious about when coming into the sport over booted and bladed.   Unfortunately upon having my feet measured, it was discovered that I apparently have mutant feet compared to most figure skaters, and required custom boots to accommodate a size of 8.5EE.    The lowest level boot the shop could order for me was the Jackson Premier and so I went ahead and ordered it.