You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Beginner Skate  (Read 4787 times)

Offline jaylipop

• Wearing Rental Skates
  • Total GOE: 0
Beginner Skate
« on: July 11, 2012, 04:58:31 PM »
I am completely new to ice skating and know absolutely nothing about the sport.  My daughter is 7 and she is in basic 3 classes.  We don't want to spend a lot of money on skates because I still can't tell how much she likes ice skating.  She complains about her feet hurting all the time and does not want to practice - she rents skates.  I think that may be the problem.  I have been looking on ebay to possibly get some used ones.  Is this a good idea?  I found some Jackson Classique ($36) and Riedell 12W ($29).  I have no idea if these are what she needs, but the prices seen reasonable.  I have also found some CCM skates at Play It Again Sports for very cheap ($20).  Do any of these sound like a good idea, or am I headed in the wrong direction?  Any help will be appreciated.

Offline supra

• Traveling in a Synchro Circle
  • Total GOE: 5
Re: Beginner Skate
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2012, 05:23:29 PM »
CCMs are bad. Good hockey skates, terrible figure skates.

And yes, the rental skates aren't good at all at most rinks. They're usually bent, missing insoles, not very sharp, etc.

Jackson and Riedell skates are pretty much the most common real (as in meant for more than occasional use) figure skates in America, both being US based companies. As far as the boots you listed, they're probably good for her level. Your best bet would be, look for used boots. Just make sure they're still reasonably stiff (as in, the sides don't bend in when you push them towards eachother) and the soles aren't falling off the boot.