You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Which blades could help me with jump height?  (Read 4479 times)

Offline masterblaster

• Axelicious!
  • Total GOE: 6
Which blades could help me with jump height?
« on: January 25, 2023, 10:59:49 AM »
I'm a beginner adult, skating for three years, group lessons for two years. I am just about finished with LTS levels and expect I will be starting single jumps in the near future. I have Edea Chorus boots with Ultima Legacy 8 blades (because the beginner Mirage blades made learning even basic two foot turns and spins nearly impossible for me. Legacy helped. I stayed in 8' for stability as a beginner, and speed as an adrenaline junkie.)

MY QUESTION: I have long, wide, flat feet that are pretty stiff and inflexible. My big toes are particularly stiff and immobile (assessed in PT.) I've noticed that vaulting off the toe pick, especially on a forward one-foot take off, requires good toe flexion and while I can do it somewhat, I don't get hardly any height on my bunny hop, even when I'm not scared and pushing off HARD. I get decent height on a backward two foot hop, but that's probably because I have double power on a two foot takeoff.

i'm also heavy, 250 lbs, so obviously it takes more strength to get myself into the air, and I'd love a blade that can provide maximal assistance. My Legacy 8s are near the end of their sharpening life and the profile is noticeably flatter than when they were new, which is not helping.

What specific blade features would help me the most with vaulting off the pick and getting more height as I get into jumps? I suspect a blade with a more pronounced spin rocker plus a big toepick may give me the best momentum to get me into the air, thus partially compensating for my stiff toes and heavy mass, but is this correct?